Iguana Taco // white pants for taco tuesday

April 14, 2013 § 2 Comments

Taco Tuesday is undeniably the worst day of the week to squeeze into immaculate white pants. One day, I will successfully eat one of Iguana’s gourmet dollar tacos with class and grace and a spotless lap. Unfortunately, white-pants taco Tuesday was not that day.

The salsa teetered precariously on the edge of the chip for a brief, panicked moment. By the time I’d realized what was happening, the salsa leapt gleefully from its proper place, probably screaming “YOLO” the whole way down to my poor once-spotless pants. Chaos. For a birthday dinner, this wasn’t going quite as planned.

20130413-163212.jpg

Ivy with the infamous chips and salsa

My dinner date nearly choked on her Philly cheesesteak taco when she saw the devastation in my eyes. She didn’t say “I told you so,” but the smirk at the corner of her mouth did. I blotted up the mess as best as I could and turned to my tacos to soothe my misery. Since they were Iguana tacos, it worked. Philly cheesesteak, BBQ flank with pineapple relish, and vegetarian stir fry. Foodies would describe this culinary experience with a lot of fancy metaphors about the way the flavors interact with your taste buds and how you feel when your mouth gets groped by a cocktail of sweet and savory. I, on the other hand, lack their skill with language, so all I have to say is that those tacos were delicious and I’d pay five dollars apiece for that kind of fabulous.

Two baskets of chips and salsa later, we were rocking out to the in-house DJ and eavesdropping on the drunken conversations around us. Iguana is loud, vivid, and a wonderful respite from the gloom of my messy apartment. There’s nothing quite like eclectic decor and drunk OKC trendsters to make you forget about papers and projects.

When we finally left the little taco stand by the railroad tracks, we were completely stuffed and comparing levels of culinary impregnation. I won with a decisive three months next to Ivy’s one and was conflicted between feelings of pride and shame. I settled on contentment. It’s not often I find Mexican food that doesn’t result in a night spent on the fake tile of the bathroom floor. Iguana certainly deserves the title of “Best Downtown Restaurant.”

Fat and happy, we eased into my car and headed home, the very picture of class as we proceeded to have a burping contest the whole way down I-77.

|HOURS|

mon through sat // 11am – 11pm

sun // 10:30am – 8pm

|LOCATION|

9 nw 9th st

oklahoma city, ok 73102

|CONTACT|

It’s advisable to call ahead and reserve a table, especially on Taco Tuesday. For that, here’s their number: 405.606.7172

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Iguana Taco // white pants for taco tuesday

  • Lindi Belle says:

    I just love the way you write! I was chuckling and laughing as you described the foodies compared to yourself. Well done! I’m insanely curious about Iguana now. I’ve only heard it mentioned once or twice, but now I’m determined to go. Thanks for the wonderful and entertaining post! šŸ™‚

  • shwelch91 says:

    I completely understand what you mean by culinary impregnation. I myself feel as though I’ve been incriminated with a food baby every time I so much as eyeball a huge and delectable taco. They are so seductive. You must take me to this taco hut of wonder. But only after I recover from my current food child that I’ve been continually working on since dead week.

We accept hate, love, and apathy. Tell us here.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Iguana Taco // white pants for taco tuesday at Roughs & Beards & Nonchalance.

meta

